How can I find the job that’s right for me?

Posted on December 8, 2006. Filed under: Blog--All categories, Staff selection |

Or … “I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.” Are you thinking it’s time for a change in your career? Are you wondering whether the job you have is really the job you want? A client of mine, Kelley, is making changes in her career. She’s known for some time that a move was on the horizon, but now that she’s taken the first step in making that move–leaving her most recent job–she wants to be certain she finds a glove-like fit in her next one. Here’s Kelley in her own words:

“I knew I was good with people, but what I did not know is the relationships I form drive me. I also found out that I like rules, guidance, and performance reviews. In my last position, I did not have any of those. It made perfect sense why I was feeling so much discord in that company.

“The career assessment we did together helps me when I go on interviews: I can show my prospective employer–in black and white–why I’m a good fit for their organization. I would recommend this service to anyone who feels like they are lacking guidance in what direction they should take in their career. I’m going to step out of my comfort zone (what I know) and into a different comfort zone (what I need). Tracy, the tools you have given me will improve my future career choices and ultimately my happiness. Your assessment is going to change the course of my life.”

Those are lofty words and ones that warm my heart. In my experience, being in the wrong job is one of the most exhausting things a person can do. Every day is a struggle; each task is a mountain. But when we work from our passion, the job becomes play and we are filled with energy.

As a Certified Professional Behavioral and Values Analyst, my job–the one that energizes and fills me with energy–is helping people like Kelley discover their passion. Once we know our passion, it’s much easier to make career choices that fit that passion. If you’ve been thinking about making a change in your career and want to find out more about the assessment tools I use, please send me an email at Tracy@Mgr-Impact.com.

In my next blog, you’ll learn how assessment tools can also be used to help motivate and grow your staff. You see, one doesn’t always have to change jobs to find career satisfaction. Sometimes it’s just changing how we see the job …

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

