Yesterday WAS a Great Day!

Posted on December 21, 2006. Filed under: Blog--All categories, Management development |

I told you about my brother-in-law yesterday–he wakes up each morning and says “Today is going to be a great day!” Yesterday, I started my day with the same words. And guess what? It WAS a great day! I was energized, productive, and smiling all day long. And I really had a great day!

Guess what I said this morning when I got up? Yup, those same words. Because I enjoyed yesterday so much, I want today to be another great day. Of course, I’m not treating this phrase as a talisman to ward off negative circumstances in my life. But I am making a decision about how I plan to have my day turn out.

Think about this in terms of working with staff and customers. If we decide each day that this day will be great, would it be easier to cope with the irritants that crop up during the day? If we decide each day will be great, unpleasant people have less influence on how we respond throughout the day.

As managers and leaders in our companies, we must set the example for those we lead. And if choosing to make each day great helps us manage ourselves better in our conduct with those around us, we can’t help but improve our impact in the workplace.

I’m choosing to have another great day. How about you?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

